Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Idles Heaven London 19 4 18 Photo by Mike Massaro 004

IDLES, Jade Bird, Little Simz, and more lead 2019 AIM Awards nominations

24 July 2019, 10:48 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The Association of Independent Music (AIM) Awards nominations for 2019 are here, with IDLES, Jade Bird, and Little Simz up for awards.

IDLES have received four nominations this year, including UK Independent Breakthrough, International Breakthrough, Best [Difficult] Second Album, and Best Creative Packaging for their 2018 album Joy as an Act of Resistance.

Jade Bird has received three nominations, including UK Independent Breakthrough, International Breakthrough, and Best Independent Album.

Little Simz has been nominated for two awards this year, including Best Independent Track for "Selfish" featuring Celo Sol, and Best Independent Album for her GREY Area record.

It's also revealed that Blondie's Debbie Harry will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Music award at the ceremony in September.

Other names nominated for this year include Ezra Collective, Nilüfer Yanya, FKA Twigs, Dave, Fontaines DC, Swindle, Julia Jacklin, SOAK, Arlo Parks, Georgia, AJ Tracey, and more. Check out the full list below.

UK Independent Breakthrough

  • Black Midi
  • Ezra Collective
  • Gerry Cinnamon
  • Jade Bird

International Breakthrough

  • Afro B
  • Jade Bird
  • Maribou State
  • Nilüfer Yanya

Best Independent Track

  • Dave - Funky Friday (feat. Fredo)
  • FKA Twigs - Cellophane
  • Fontaines DC - Boys In The Better Land
  • Georgia - About Work The Dancefloor
  • Jarv Is - Must I Evolve
  • Jai Paul - Do You Love Her Now
  • Holly Herndon - Eternal
  • Little Simz - Selfish (feat. Celo Sol)
  • Sharon Van Etten - Seventeen
  • Four Tet - Teenage Birdsong

Best Independent Album

​​Best [Difficult] Second Album

​​One To Watch

  • Arlo Parks
  • Barney Artist
  • Georgia
  • Kokoroko
  • Larkins

Best Small Label

  • Fuzz Club Records
  • Killing Moon
  • Local Action
  • Scruff of the Neck
  • Speedy Wunderground

Best Creative Packaging

  • Various Artists - Confessin' The Blues compilation
  • Murlo - Dolos
  • IDLES - Joy as an Act of Resistance
  • Various Artists - Sick Music 2019 compilation
  • Keith Richards - Talk Is Cheap

Best Independent Video

  • Christine and the Queens - 5 Dollars
  • Hot Chip - Hungry Child
  • John Grant - He's Got His Mother's Hips
  • Caleb Steph - Black Boy
  • FKA Twigs - Cellophane

Best Independent Label

  • Brownswood Recordings
  • Domino
  • Nuclear Blast
  • Partisan Records
  • Rough Trade

Most Played New Independent Artist

  • AJ Tracey
  • Cosmo Sheldrake
  • Freya Ridings
  • Guru Randhawa
  • Jorja Smith
The AIM Awards ceremony takes place on 3 September at London's Roundhouse. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next