Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Stephen Malkmusgroupfinal4 PC Samuel Gehrke and Chris Shonting 300 dpi

Stephen Malkmus previews new LP with fresh single "Xian Man"

22 January 2020, 15:01 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Stephen Malkmus is back with news of his new LP Traditional Techniques, and has shared the first single "Xian Man".

"Xian Man" is Malkmus' first new single since his 2019 solo album Groove Denied.

The idea behind Traditional Techniques was first conceived when Malkmus was recording 2018 album Sparkle Hard with The Jicks in Portland’s Halfling Studio.

Malkmus' new album was created alongside engineer Chris Funk (The Decemberists), and Matt Sweeney of Bonnie “Prince” Billy, who plays guitar throughout.

Funk and Sweeney will form part of Malkmus' live band for his upcoming North American tour, with Funk playing pedal steel and keyboard, and Sweeney on guitar.


  1. ACC Kirtan
  2. Xian Man
  3. The Greatest Own in Legal History
  4. Cash Up
  5. Shadowbanned
  6. What Kind of Person
  7. Flowin’ Robes
  8. Brainwashed
  9. Signal Western
  10. Amberjack
"Xian Man" is out now. Stephen Malkmus' Traditional Techniques album arrives via Domino on 6 March, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next