Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Ariel pink another weekend still

Ariel Pink announces new record Dedicated To Bobby Jameson

21 June 2017, 17:08 | Written by Laurence Day

Ariel Pink has announced new album Dedicated To Bobby Jameson, the follow up to 2014's pom pom, and unveiled a video for the lead single.

Pink shared the track earlier this month, but now we've got a rather strange video to sink our teeth into as well. This clip's directed by Grant Singer (Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande) and it's full of awkward lounge crooning, stern-looking musicians, and wobbly VHS effects.

A press release explains the odd title: "[It] makes a direct and heartfelt reference to a real-life Los Angeles musician, long presumed dead, who resurfaced online in 2007 after 35 reclusive years to pen his autobiography and tragic life story in a series of blogs and YouTube tirades."

"His book and life resonated with me to such a degree that I felt a need to dedicate my latest record to him," Pink says of Jameson's influence. "We follow the protagonist through a battery of tests and milestones, the first of which sees him reborn into life out of death. From there, he seesaws his way between the innocent love and the rock-solid edifice of childhood-worn trauma that together constitute his lifelong initiation into the realm of artifice and theatrical disposability.”

Pink has hardly been silent since the release of his last LP - far from it. Earlier this year he teamed with Weyes Blood for an EP; last year he joined up with clothing company Skim Milk and Kanye West collaborator Theophilus London; in 2015 he appeared on the Miley Cyrus x Flaming Lips record and on a track by Mild High Club.


  1. Time To Meet Your God
  2. Feels Like Heaven
  3. Death Patrol
  4. Santa’s In The Closet
  5. Dedicated To Bobby Jameson
  6. Time To Live
  7. Another Weekend
  8. I Wanna Be Young
  9. Bubblegum Dreams
  10. Dreamdate Narcissist
  11. Kitchen Witch
  12. Do Yourself A Favor
  13. Acting (ft. Dam-Funk)
Dedicated To Bobby Jameson is released via Mexican Summer on 15 September.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next