Gothic romanticists The Cure have been selected to enter the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2019 alongside Janet Jackson, Fleetwood Mac's Stevie Nicks, Radiohead, Def Leppard, Roxy Music, and The Zombies.

Nominees Kraftwerk, LL Cool J, Rufus and Chaka Khan, Rage Against The Machine, MC5, John Prine, Todd Rundgren, and Devo missed out on being inducted this year.

Stevie Nicks will be the first woman in history to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice, having been originally inducted with Fleetwood Mac back in 1998. In a statement, Nicks expresses, "I have a lot to say about this, but I will save those words for later. For now I will just say, I have been in a band since 1968. To be recognized for my solo work makes me take a deep breath and smile. It’s a glorious feeling.”

Last year saw guitarist Sister Rosetta Tharpe, soul icon Nina Simone, Dire Straits, Bon Jovi, and more inducted into the career-defining Hall of Fame..

The induction ceremony will take place at New York's Barclays Centre on 29 March 2019, and will be streamed on HBO and SiriusXM.