Swans have been teasing new music since March, and today they've finally revealed their first single "It's Coming It's Real".

"It's Coming It's Real" is the first taste of their new Leaving Meaning album, which is their first since 2016's The Glowing Man, and their 2017 remastered edition of 1995's The Great Annihilator album.

Leaving Meaning was written and produced by Swans vocalist Michael Gira, and features members of Gira’s alternate project the Angels of Light, Thor Harris, Norman Westberg, Ben Frost, the Necks, Baby Dee, and Jennifer Gira, among others. The first single features special guests Anna and Maria von Hausswolff.

Gira said in a statement, "Leaving Meaning is the first Swans album to be released since I dissolved the lineup of musicians that constituted Swans from 2010 - 2017. Swans is now comprised of a revolving cast of musicians, selected for both their musical and personal character, chosen according to what I intuit best suits the atmosphere in which I’d like to see the songs I’ve written presented. In collaboration with me, the musicians, through their personality, skill and taste, contribute greatly to the arrangement of the material. They’re all people whose work I admire and whose company I personally enjoy."


  1. Hums
  2. Annaline
  3. The Hanging Man
  4. Amnesia (feat. Anna and Maria von Hausswolff)
  5. Leaving Meaning (feat. the Necks)
  6. Sunfucker (feat. Anna and Maria von Hausswolff)
  7. Cathedrals of Heaven
  8. The Nub (feat. Baby Dee and the Necks)
  9. It’s Coming It's Real (feat. Anna and Maria von Hausswolff)
  10. Some New Things
  11. What Is This
  12. My Phantom Limb
"It's Coming It's Real" is out now. Swans' Leaving Meaning album lands 25 October via Young God / Mute.