"The Only Heartbreaker" is the second song to be lifted from Mitski's new album, after last month's "Working for the Knife", and is accompanied by a video directed by Maegan Houang and Jeff Desom.

Mitski says the new single, which was co-written with Dan Wilson, depicts "the person always messing up in the relationship, the designated Bad Guy who gets the blame It could simply be about that, but I also wanted to depict something sadder beneath the surface, that maybe the reason you’re always the one making mistakes is because you’re the only one trying."

Laurel Hell will be Mitski's first album since 2018's Be The Cowboy, and was recorded with longtime producer Patrick Hyland throughout the pandemic.


  1. Valentine, Texas
  2. Working for the Knife
  3. Stay Soft
  4. Everyone
  5. Heat Lightning
  6. The Only Heartbreaker
  7. Love Me More
  8. There’s Nothing Left For You
  9. Should’ve Been Me
  10. I Guess
  11. That’s Our Lamp
"The Only Heartbreaker" is out now. Mitski's Laurel Hell album will land via Dead Oceans on 4 February 2022, and is available to pre-order now.