Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
British sea power jan17

British Sea Power announce new album Let The Dancers Inherit The Party

04 January 2017, 09:08 | Written by Laurence Day

British Sea Power return with "Bad Bohemian", the first track from new record Let The Dancers Inherit The Party.

The Brighton outfit are following up their 2015 Sea Of Brass box set and 2013 and 2014 soundtrack LPs From The Sea To The Land Beyond and Happiness. It's the first new studio album since 2013's Machineries Of Joy.

Martin Goble (guitar) says of the record: “It was made to a background of politicians perfecting the art of unabashed lying, of social-media echo chambers, of click-bait, and electronic Tonka Toys to keep us entertained and befuddled. All this can easily make the individual feel futile. But I think we’ve ended up addressing this confusion in an invigorating way, rather than imprisoning the listener in melancholy. Musically, it’s our most direct album and maybe the first one where we maintain a coherent mood from start to finish. Perhaps a little clarity isn’t a bad thing at this point. There wasn’t a plan to create an album with any particular subject matter but we’ve kind of ended up with a case of ’think global, act local’ – an album where individuals are dealing with their domestic and personal lives against a background of uncontrollable international lunacy.”

The album has been recorded in Sussex, London, and on the Isle Of Skye and was crowdfunded with the help of their fanbase. It's not being released via long-time label Rough Trade, but rather their own Golden Chariot (via Caroline).


  1. Intro
  2. Bad Bohemian
  3. International Space Station
  4. What You're Doing
  5. The Voice Of Ivy Lee
  6. Keep On Trying (Sechs Freunde)
  7. Electrical Kittens
  8. Saint Jerome
  9. Praise For Whatever
  10. Want To Be Free
  11. Don't Let The Sun Get In The Way
  12. Alone Piano
Let The Dancers Inherit The Party is out 31 March on Golden Chariot/Caroline.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next