In 2014 Blood Red Shoes went their separate ways after years of relentless touring and music making. The Brighton-based duo had sadly exhausted each other. “We didn’t, at any point, have a breather. We probably didn’t see each other for about 10 days a year, tops, for six or seven years. We got to the end of the fourth record and were like, ‘Fuck you, I never want to see you again,"" says drummer and vocalist Steven Ansel.

Their self-titled and self-made fourth album ended on a sour note, leading to vocalist and guitarist Laura Mary-Carter jetting off to LA to focus on her own doings, while Ansel explains he "went out and took drugs and went clubbing for about half a year. I don’t remember a lot about it. Classic break-up move, right?”

Returning to their roots, Blood Red Shoes have today announced their fifth album Get Tragic, alongside the first track "Mexican Dress".

On the new single, Mary-Carter explains, "This song is about the lengths people will go to for attention. Whether it’s online or in real life - Small hits of validation and the feeling of having all eyes on you have become our generation’s biggest drug problem."

The duo's forthcoming album was born out of their separation and individual paths taken during their break, as Ansel explains, "The reason we called it Get Tragic is because we realised that everything we’ve been doing over the last three years is kinda tragic! Just like, ‘Ooh, I hate you, I’m going to America to find myself’, and like ‘Ooh, I’m gonna party for the rest of the year!’ Everything about it is such a cliché – we were like, ‘We’ve turned into a fuckin' tragedy!’”


  1. Eye To Eye
  2. Mexican Dress
  3. Bangsar
  4. Nearer (feat. Kristian Bell of The Wytches)
  5. Beverly (feat. Ed Harcourt)
  6. Find My Own Remorse (feat. Clarence Clarity)
  7. Howl
  8. (Interlude)
  9. Anxiety
  10. Vertigo
  11. Elijah

News of their forthcoming record also arrives with some fresh UK and European tour dates, with the duo performing at London's Borderling on 26 January 2019. Find out more.

"Mexican Dress" is available now. Blood Red Shoes' Get Tragic arrives on 25 January 2019 via Jazz Life.