Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Yolatengo 20171015 Yo La Tengo 46789 1 copy

Yo La Tengo preview new EP with second single "Bleeding"

22 September 2020, 15:20 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Yo La Tengo have released their new song "Bleeding" as the second track to be lifted from their forthcoming Sleepless Night EP.

"Bleeding" arrives after last month's lead single, a cover of The Byrds' "Wasn’t Born To Follow".

Yo La Tengo's dreamy single is the only new song from the band to feature on their upcoming EP, as the other five tracks are covers of songs by Bob Dylan, The Delmore Brothers, Ronnie Lane and The Flying Machine.

The band's Ira Kaplan says of the EP's origins, "We met Yoshitomo Nara in 2003, would see him at his art shows and our concerts. We dj’d at an opening at the Asia Society, and on another occasion he drew a picture of Georgia strangling me on a Gloomy pencil case that became one of Georgia’s prized possessions until it was stolen from her at the bar at the K-West hotel in Shepherd’s Bush. To make the catalogue of his 2020 exhibit at LACMA more personal, the idea came up to include an LP of some of Nara’s favourite songs as part of a deluxe edition. We were asked to provide one side of the LP (and that one track be a new composition), with the other side being another six songs selected by Nara, in their original versions. Here are the six songs we contributed to the LACMA record, chosen in collaboration with Nara."

Yo La Tengo's "Bleeding" track is out now. Their Sleepless Night EP will land 9 October via Matador, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next