The new single features grizzled rocker Mark Lanegan and Mercury Prize nominee ESKA. It follows already-shared cuts "Cowboys Or Indians", "Sick Lullaby", and "The Road".

The Road Part 1 was inspired in part by Lavelle's time curating the 2014 Meltdown Festival at London's Southbank Centre and recorded between the UK capital and Los Angeles. The collaborative collection features, as well as Lanegan and ESKA, Keaton Henson, Primal Scream’s Andrew Innes, The Duke Spirit’s Liela Moss, Queens Of The Stone Age drummer Jon Theodore, Beck drummer Justin Stanley, Mïnk, Dhani Harrison, Elliott Power, YSÉE, and Callum Finn.

"I hadn’t made a record in a long time, and the incarnation of UNKLE had changed in that now, it was me on my own," says Lavelle. "For that reason, I wanted to make a record that I hadn’t been able to before, going back to the roots of where I came from, with a foot in modern London."

The physical edition of the LP includes a 36-page bookley featuring art from the likes of Turner Prize nominee Nathan Coley, John Isaacs, David Nicholson, Norbert Schoerner, Doug Foster, Warren Du Preez, and Nick Thornton Jones.

Work on The Road Part 2 is already underway.

The Road Part 1 is out 23 June.