Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Siv jakobsen 2020

Siv Jakobsen announces second album with lead single "Fear The Fear"

23 January 2020, 12:27 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Norway's Siv Jakobsen has announced her sophomore LP A Temporary Soothing, which arrives with the tender lead single "Fear The Fear".

"Fear The Fear" is Jakobsen's first new single since her 2017 debut album The Nordic Mellow.

Jakobsen says of the new track, ""Fear The Fear" was born from a spiralling worry that I wouldn’t be able to create well if I was well, happy, content with myself and my life. It touches on my tendency to hang out in my own head and stay there, worrying about something in a constant, stressful loop."

She adds, "Fear is a big element in my general state of being, and I’m often run by it. I had a thought that perhaps my good songs were be behind me if I was in a truly happy place and I couldn’t get away from this for a long time but writing this song helped me get that spiralling fearfulness out of my system."

A Temporary Soothing is produced by Chris Bond (Ben Howard, Nick Mulvey), and mixed by Zach Hanson (Bon Iver, Tallest Man on Earth), and was written and recorded over the course of a year.

Jakobsen says of the new record, "It's a way for me to look back and see what I have been going through, both the good and the bad. What I hope for is that people can take it and understand what they have been going through personally, too."

"Fear The Fear" is out now. Siv Jakobsen's A Temporary Soothing album lands 24 April via U OK?, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next