"Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys)” arrives after last year's comeback single "STFU!".

Speaking about the new single, Sawayama says, "When I was writing this song I wanted on one hand to lyrically explore the idea of people having to adopt negative male tropes to appear confident, whilst on the other sonically paying homage to the early 2000s dance tracks that made me feel confident. The idea that the socially acceptable version of confidence is in acting "like the boys", otherwise as a woman you get called a bitch - but in the club, we reclaim the word "bitch" as a sign of ultimate confidence ('yes bitch', 'work bitch'). I wanted to sit these two together and make a club fashion banger that makes you feeling like THAT bitch whoever you are."

SAWAYAMA is the singer/songwriter's debut album, and first collection of tracks since her 2017 mini-album RINA.

Discussing her forthcoming LP, Sawayama explains, "The album ultimately is about family and identity. It's about understanding yourself in the context of two opposing cultures (for me British and Japanese), what “belonging” means when home is an evolving concept, figuring out where you sit comfortably within and awkwardly outside of stereotypes, and ultimately trying to be ok with just being you, warts and all."


  1. Dynasty
  2. XS
  3. STFU!
  4. Comme des Garçons (Like The Boys)
  5. Akasaka Sad
  6. Paradisin'
  7. Love Me 4 Me
  8. Bad Friend
  9. Fuck This World (Interlude)
  10. Who's Gonna Save U Now?
  11. Tokyo Love Hotel
  12. Chosen Family
  13. Snakeskin
"Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys)" is out now. Rina Sawayama's debut album SAWAYAMA arrives via Dirty Hit on 17 April, and is available to pre-order now. She plays London's Electric Brixton on 21 May. Tickets go on sale 24 January at 10am.