The initial 40-strong longlist was trimmed to just 10 records over the summer, with the likes of Drake, Mac DeMarco, Carly Rae Jepsen, The Tragically Hip, The New Pornographers, and The Weeknd all missing out on a spot on the final shortlist.

The 2017 Polaris Music Prize Shortlist:

  • A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation
  • Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker
  • Gord Downie – Secret Path
  • Feist – Pleasure
  • Lisa LeBlanc – Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
  • Lido Pimienta – La Papessa
  • Tanya Tagaq – Retribution
  • Leif Vollebekk – Twin Solitude
  • Weaves – Weaves

Pimienta wins $50,000 on top of the coveted Canadian Album Of The Year award. The remaning nine members of the shortlist received $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music.

Kaytranada won the 2016 Polaris Music Prize.

Find out more about the Polaris Music Prize.