On Saturday (28 March), Frahm unveiled his new eight-track LP Empty to celebrate Piano Day 2020.

Frahm created some of the pieces for Empty before he broke his thumb sometime before his 2012 LP Screws, and decided to finish them so he could release the eight pieces for Piano Day.

He says of the Empty, "When I came back from the hospital with a broken thumb and listened to the recordings, I felt they were unfinished. I decided to put them aside and started to work on my small album, Screws. Many many other notes of the piano have been struck since these days, and before we all forget about this, I thought it would be a good moment to share these lullabies with you. I hope they help you stay all strong and calm in these days of solitude – despite the hardship, we can discover introspection and reflection unexpectedly. Who knows what it is good for."

Empty is Frahm's first album since releasing All Encores last October.


  1. First Defeat
  2. A Shine
  3. No Step on Wing
  4. The Big O
  5. Second Defeat
  6. A Shimmer
  7. Sonar
  8. Black Notes
Nils Frahm's surprise album Empty is out now.