"Soria Moria" is the first taste of Mount Eerie's newly announced live album (after).

The live album was recorded during Elverum's performance at 2017's Le Guess Who? Festival. The performance took place in Utrecht's Jacobikerk, a monumental gothic church.

(away) will feature songs from Elverum's A Crow Looked at Me album, and this year’s Now Only. "Soria Moria" is taken from A Crow Looked at Me.

Alongside the announcement, the musician recalls performing songs from A Crow Looked at Me after his wife, Geneviève Castrée, passed away in 2016, “It wasn’t easy. The shows were emotionally difficult and the atmosphere was so delicate and strange, like reenacting a violent act on stage in front of a paying audience every night.”

He also goes on to express the importance of his performance at last year's Le Guess Who?, stating, “Does it bring anything new to the songs to hear them in this way? My hope is: yes. You can hear the breath in the room. You can feel the simultaneous intimacy and immensity. Foregrounded by the hyper-bare instrumentation (minimal acoustic guitar), the words burn brighter even than on the albums, more legible. This is a recording of these ultra-intimate songs living in the real world among people, and of peoples’ wide-eyed accepting silence, and clapping.

It also turns out the live album was an accident, as Elverum explains, "Nobody was supposed to be recording these shows but fortunately someone didn’t get that message and this beautiful recording of that show has surfaced."


  1. Real Death
  2. Seaweed
  3. Ravens
  4. When I Take Out the Garbage at Night
  5. Emptiness pt. 2
  6. Soria Moria
  7. Crow
  8. Distortion
  9. Now Only
  10. Crow pt. 2
  11. (remarks)
  12. Tintin in Tibet
Mount Eerie's live album (after) arrives on 21 September via his own label P.W. Elverum & Sun. Find out more information about this year's Le Guess Who? festival.