Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Magdalena Bay x Lissyelle CHAERI 4

Magdalena Bay announce self-produced debut album with lead single "Chaeri"

01 July 2021, 12:02 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

LA-based duo Magdalena Bay have announced their self-produced debut album Mercurial World, alongside sharing the hypnotic lead single "Chaeri".

"Chaeri" is the duo's first taster of their debut album, and follows on from their appearance on Jordana's "Push Me Away" in April.

They say of the new single, ""Chaeri" muses on mental health, friendship, loneliness and control. It’s about the walls we put up and the walls we should tear down for the sake of authentic connection, and Mica’s [Tenenbaum] own personal difficulties with that. We tried taking these themes and elevating them to build a big, dark world with unsettling undertones."

Mercurial World is entirely written, produced, performed, mixed and mastered by Magdalena Bay, and will follow last year's A Little Rhythm and a Wicked Feeling EP.

The duo's Matthew Lewin says of the album, "We spend all of our time together, and in some ways Mercurial World is about that particular sense of madness in containment. We live together and make art together; this immerses you in our creative, insular universe."


  1. The End
  2. Mercurial World
  3. Dawning Of The Season
  4. Secrets (Your Fire)
  5. You Lose!
  6. Something For 2
  7. Chaeri
  8. Halfway
  9. Hysterical Us
  10. Prophecy
  11. Follow The Leader
  12. Domino
  13. Dreamcatching
  14. The Beginning
"Chaeri" is out now. Magdalena Bay's debut album Mercurial World will arrive 8 October via Luminelle, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next