Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Lucy Rose Credit Will Morris 2019

Lucy Rose announces fourth album with lead single "Conversation"

11 January 2019, 10:31 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Lucy Rose is back with details of her fourth album No Words Left, accompanied by the compelling lead single "Conversation".

It's been two years since Lucy Rose's third full-length Something's Changing. Since then she's delivered an album of Something's Changing remixes, and standalone singles "End Up Here" and "All That Fear".

Now Rose has uncovered a sparse, emotive number called "Conversation", which is the opening track of her forthcoming album.

No Words Left was recoded in Brighton with the help of producer Tim Bidwell, before being mixed by Cenzo Townsend.

Expanding on her fourth album, Lucy Rose explains, “Releasing this record feels entirely different to every other record I’ve released. But to try and sum up my emotions is virtually impossible. I don’t believe this the best album I’ve ever made because I don’t believe in making comparisons when it comes to music. But it’s different. In every way I’ve approached writing, recording and now releasing music, it’s been different. I’ve lost all consciousness in caring and it’s been liberating. It is what it is. It’s a feeling, it’s a song, it’s a sound, it’s a part of me which I can’t decipher whether it’s good or bad, but it’s sincere.

...That really struck a chord with me as sincerity really is the key to this record. It’s my truth. Sincerity is the truth of a person, not just the good but the bad: the flaws, the realness, which can never be ‘perfect’. This album reflects the reality of my life, the toughness life throws at you, and for a period of time it did become too much for me to handle alone.

...I always hope my music would be a comfort to someone, however this record may not be the easiest listen. But it’s in its discomfort I believe a different form of comfort can be found. I’m certain of it. “


  1. Conversation
  2. No Words Left pt. 1
  3. Solo(w)
  4. Treat Me Like A Woman
  5. The Confines of This World
  6. Just A Moment
  7. Nobody Comes Round Here
  8. What Does It Take
  9. Save Me From Your Kindness
  10. Pt. 2
  11. Song After Song
"Conversation" is available now. No Words Left lands 22 March. Lucy Rose tours the UK and Europe from April, and plays London's Union Chapel on 9 April. Find out more. Revisit our Talk The Line podcast with Lucy Rose.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next