Johnny Cash: Forever Words collects a heap of his (until recently) unknown lyrics and song fragments, with contemporary faces adding their own touches and tributes to The Man In Black. The album is a "musical companion" to Forever Words: The Unknown Poems, a book of his works edited by Pulitzer winner Paul Muldoon and curated by Steve Berkowitz and son John Carter Cash.

Chris Cornell, Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves, Rosanne Cash, Alison Krauss and Union Station, Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson, Brad Paisley, John Mellencamp, Carlene Carter, Elvis Costello, The Jayhawks, and more all contribute to the collaborative LP.

The artists recorded mostly at The Cash Cabin Studio in Tennessee with producers Berkowitz and John Carter Cash.

"Determining the artist for each song was truly a matter of the heart," says John Carter Cash. "I picked the artists who are most connected with my father, who had a personal story that was connected with Dad. It became an exciting endeavor to go through these works, to put them together and present them to different people who could finish them in a way that I believed that Dad would have wanted."


  1. Forever/I Still Miss Someone (Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson)
  2. To June This Morning (Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves)
  3. Gold All Over the Ground (Brad Paisley)
  4. You Never Knew My Mind (Chris Cornell)
  5. The Captain's Daughter (Alison Krauss and Union Station)
  6. Jellico Coal Man (T. Bone Burnett)
  7. The Walking Wounded (Rosanne Cash)
  8. Them Double Blues (John Mellencamp)
  9. Body on Body (Jewel)
  10. I'll Still Love You (Elvis Costello)
  11. June's Sundown (Carlene Carter)
  12. He Bore It All (Daily and Vincent)
  13. Chinky Pin Hill (I'm With Her)
  14. Goin', Goin', Gone (Robert Glasper, Ro James, and Anu Sun)
  15. What Would I Dreamer Do? (The Jayhawks)
  16. Spirit Rider (Jamey Johnson)
Johnny Cash: Forever Words is out on CD, 2xLP vinyl, and digital on 6 April via Legacy.