"Dark" is Brown's first new single in two years, after her 2017's debut album Consume Me.

Director Jay Bartlett says of the new video, "On the surface "Dark" sounds ominous, but within the context of the album it was clear that it was a jubilant release. A celebration of accepting nature’s rule and rolling with what life throws at you. With this video we wanted to be around as much nature as possible. Hiding the beauty of England in seemingly macabre shots, and from that, create compositions that could could hold their own as a photo in their own right."

Brown says "Dark" is "the most optimistic song on the album. Like I’m waking up from this dreamland and finding freedom rather than it being a negative feeling. Because things do change. We have to hope things will get better."

Vanishing Lands was largely created at Brown's Brighton home, with co-producer Rob Flynn adding more at a later date.

Brown wrote eight out of the 10 songs after having strange dreams across a three-week period. She says of the record, "I found myself in a dreamland and discovered it was being destroyed. I chose Vanishing Lands as an album title because it sounded suitably desolate, and lent the songs a feeling of cohesion."


  1. Light
  2. Bloom
  3. Dual Terror
  4. Monochrome
  5. This Only City
  6. Icaria
  7. Gold
  8. Roses
  9. Fall Empire
  10. Dark
"Dark" is out now. Dog In The Snow's Vanishing Lands album arrives 15 November via Bella Union, and is available to pre-order now.