Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Do Make Say Think return with 12-minute track from first album in eight years

09 March 2017, 15:00 | Written by Laurence Day

Canadian post-rock veterans Do Make Say Think return with "Bound And Boundless", the first song from new album Stubborn Persistent Illusions.

The Toronto-based outfit, who share members with Broken Social Scene (also returning this year), haven't released a new album since 2009's Other Truths but are planning the follow up for this spring.

The first taste is the beefy 12-minute "Bound And Boundless", which on the LP is actually two songs ("Bound" and "And Boundless").

"There is a hint of narrative on this album which is both vague and deliberate," the band say of the album. "The idea comes from an image in a Buddhist poem about working with a wild mind. The idea is that each song is a thought or daydream, independent but at the same time connected to the other thoughts through subconscious feelings. And although the thoughts come and go, the feelings return over and over throughout our lives. The suggestion in the poem is that when your mental chatter carries you away you don’t necessarily need to tie it down or shut it up; you can instead recognize thoughts as thoughts and let them play out. Eventually all concepts must return to perception, where they started. We should probably say again that this narrative is admittedly a bit wooly around the edges - we don’t pretend that every note has a special significance."


  1. War On Torpor
  2. Horripilation
  3. A Murder of Thoughts
  4. Bound
  5. And Boundless
  6. Her Eyes OnThe Horizon
  7. d=3.57√h (As Far As The Eye Can See)
  8. Shlomo’s Son
  9. Return, Return Again
Stubborn Persistent Illusions is out 19 May via Constellation. Pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next