Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
DJ Shadow by Derick Daily

DJ Shadow announces double album featuring Run The Jewels, Nas, De La Soul, and more

20 September 2019, 14:55 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

DJ Shadow has announced his new double album Our Pathetic Age, which will feature collaborations with Run The Jewels, Nas, De La Soul, and others.

The first single to be shared from the huge album is "Rosie".

The 23-track double album is his first since 2016's The Mountain Will Fall, and will also feature members of Wu-Tang Clan, Wiki and Paul Banks (Interpol), Samuel T. Herring, and more.

Expanding on the new record, DJ Shadow says, "In my part of the world, people are scared. There's rampant homelessness, and a real fear of falling into generational poverty. People are addicted to, and addled by distraction; they're angry and confused, and disaffected by their own governmental institutions. There are songs that are inspired by this energy and seek to harness it, to make sense of it. In some cases, there's attempts to salve the wound; in others, the songs merely observe but don't offer solutions. Despite the title, it’s a hopeful, vibrant album - there is always light in darkness. I want it to reflect the times we live in, a signpost in the ground to mark the era; Our Pathetic Age."


  1. Nature Always Wins
  2. Slingblade
  3. Intersectionality
  4. Beauty, Power, Motion, Life, Work, Chaos, Law
  5. Juggernaut
  6. Firestorm
  7. Weightless
  8. Rosie
  9. If I Died Today
  10. My Lonely Room
  11. We Are Always Alone
  12. Drone Warfare (feat. Nas, Pharaohe Monch)
  13. Rain On Snow (feat. Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah, Raekwon)
  14. Rocket Fuel (feat. De La Soul)
  15. C.O.N.F.O.R.M. (feat. Gift of Gab, Lateef The Truth Speaker, Infamous Taz)
  16. Small Colleges (Stay With Me) (feat. Wiki, Paul Banks)
  17. JoJo’s Words (feat. Stro)
  18. Kings & Queens (feat. Run the Jewels)
  19. Taxin’ (feat. Dave East)
  20. Dark Side of the Heart (feat. Fantastic Negrito, Jumbo is Dr.ama)
  21. I Am Not A Robot (Interlude)
  22. Urgent, Important, Please Read (feat. Rockwell Knuckles, Tef Poe, Daemon)
  23. Our Pathetic Age (feat. Samuel T. Herring)
"Rosie" is out now. DJ Shadow's new album Our Pathetic Age will drop 15 November via Mass Appeal Records.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next