The longlist is the product of the first ballots of the 196 member Polaris Prize jury. In total 197 different albums received at least one vote but the 40 long listed records are as follows:

Absolutely FreeAbsolutely Free
The Acorn – Vieux Loup
Lydia Ainsworth – Right From Real
Alvvays – Alvvays
Arkells – High Noon
Rich Aucoin – Ephemeral
BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah – Sour Soul
Bahamas – Bahamas Is Afie
The Barr BrothersSleeping Operator
Braids – Deep In The Iris
Steph Cameron – Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady
Caribou – Our Love
Jazz Cartier – Marauding In Paradise
Jennifer Castle – Pink City
Cold Specks – Neuroplasticity
Louis-Jean Cormier – Les Grandes Artères
Death From Above 1979 – The Physical World
Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late
Frazey Ford – Indian Ocean
Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon
BA Johnston – Shit Sucks
Pierre Kwenders – Le dernier empereur Bantou
Lee Harvey Osmond – Beautiful Scars
Jean Leloup – À Paradis City
Milk & Bone – Little Mourning
Tre Mission – Stigmata
The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers
Joel Plaskett – The Park Avenue Sobriety Test
Buffy Sainte-Marie – Power In The Blood
Elizabeth Shepherd – The Signal
Siskiyou – Nervous
Colin Stetson and Sarah NeufeldNever Were The Way She Was
Various Artists – Native North America (Vol. 1): Aboriginal Folk, Rock, And Country 1966–1985
Viet Cong – Viet Cong
Patrick Watson – Love Songs For Robots
The Weather Station – Loyalty
White Lung – Deep Fantasy
Whitehorse – Leave No Bridge Unburned
Young Guv – Ripe 4 Luv

The list contains 5 previous Polaris Winners (Caribou, Patrick Watson, Louis-Jean Cormier (as a member of Karkwa), Young Guv (as a member of Fucked Up) and Sarah Neufeld (as a member of Arcade Fire). In total 18 artists are repeat longlisters, and 22 are new nominees. This year also marks the first time a curated compilation/archive release has made the longlist, in the shape of Native North America (Vol. 1): Aboriginal Folk, Rock, And Country 1966–1985.

Last year Tanya Tagaq was crowned the winner for her record Animism.

The 10 album shortlist will be announce on 10 July in Toronto. All shortlisted artists will receive $3,000, while the winner will take home a giant novelty cheque for the sum of $50,000 on 21 September.