Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Björk, Jenny Hval and Jaakko Eino Kalevi to fight it out for the Nordic Music Prize

20 January 2016, 20:02 | Written by Andrew Hannah

The nominees for the Nordic Music Prize, celebrating the best albums of 2015, were announced today.

With previous recipients including Mirel Wagner, The Knife and First Aid Kit, the Phonofile Nordic Music Prize puts to shame the Mercury and the Brits not just with the quality of its winners but also with the strength in depth of its nominees.

Alongside the familiar names of Björk, Jenny Hval and Seinabo Sey there's also well-deserved nods for Danish black metal artist Myrkur, Danish-Palestinian rapper Danni Toma and Norwegian House duo Ost & Kjex. The winner, chosen by an expert panel drawn from the five Nordic nations, will be announced during Oslo's by:Larm festival on 3 March.

The jury released a statement about the award, saying “The Nordic idea of a collective welfare system continues to be a model society for politicians around the world. Yet the Nordic Music Prize jury have managed to find 12 strongly individualist expressions coming out of Iceland, Norway, Finland, Sweden and Denmark. From established stars like Björk over upcoming darlings like Seinabo Sey and Jaakko Eino Kalevi to strange and adventurous souls like Frisk Frugt and Jenny Hval."

"The jury have once again embraced the unmistakably brilliant minds as well as the deeply personal tempers. Some of them reaching out to a wider audience, maybe confirming a Nordic feel, others diving deep into uncharted territory, blowing up any kind of stereotypes.”

The full list of albums and nominees is below, alongside the video for Björk's "Stonemilker"

Teitur Magnusson27 [Iceland]

BjörkVulnicura [Iceland]

Frisk FrugtDen Europæiske Spejlbue [Denmark]

MyrkurM [Denmark]

Danni TomaGrå [Denmark]

Ost & KjexFreedom Wig [Norway]

Band of GoldBand of Gold [Norway]

Jenny HvalApocalypse, girl [Norway]

Seinabo SeyPretend [Sweden]

Anna von HausswolffThe Miraculous [Sweden]

Jaakko Eino KaleviJaakko Eino Kalevi [Finland]

Pekko Käppi & KHHLSanguis meus, mama! [Finland]

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next