Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Field Music detail new LP Commontime, air lead cut "The Noisy Days Are Over"

13 October 2015, 13:53 | Written by Laurence Day

Field Music have announced a new album called Commontime, their first in almost four years.

The new record follows 2012's Plumb and a series of side projects and other endeavours, including their soundtrack album Music For Drifters.

As well as the news of a new record, Peter and David Brewis have revealed its lead single, "The Noisy Days Are Over", which laments the reluctant end of late nights and heavy drinking.

Speaking about Commontime, David says: "As much fun as we might have had on our own or collaborating, we missed just spending time in the studio, the two of us, trying things out and playing together..."

Commontime is released 5 February 2016 via Memphis Industries.

Stream "The Noisy Days Are Over" below. The band's upcoming UK shows can be found after.

February 2016

25 - Newcastle, The Cluny
26 - Newcastle, The Cluny
28 - York, The Duchess

March 2016

3 - Cardiff, The Globe
4 - Exeter Phoenix, Exeter
5 - Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
10 - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
11 - Manchester, Band on the Wall
13 - Glasgow, CCA
18 - London, Islington Assembly Hall
19 - Southampton, Engine Rooms
20 - Brighton, The Haunt

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next