Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Laura veirs phone orphans 2023

Laura Veirs announces intimate new album, Phone Orphans

18 September 2023, 15:52 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Laura Veirs announces her thirteenth solo album, Phone Orphans, alongside the lead single “Rocks of Time".

The esteemed Portland, Oregon-based artist sorted through over 900 voice memos spanning eight years on her phone to curate this 14-track collection, which she recorded herself in her living room. The simplicity of these raw and deeply intimate songs is their power.

Phone Orphans also marks the first time in a quarter-century-long career that Veirs has selected and arranged all of her own songs on a record.

“It feels good, on my 50th birthday and after 30 years of writing songs, to bring these Phone Orphans into the light. These songs have been hiding out on my phone, some of them for over eight years. They are about my family, my lovers and me. I recorded them alone in my living room into my voice memo app. I like their relaxed feel," Veirs says. "These songs were mastered but we made no edits to the recordings. I hope you enjoy this intimate glimpse into my artistic process. All songs by me except “Up is a Nice Place to Be” by Rosalie Sorrels and “The Archers” with lyrics adapted from a poem by Federico García Lorca.”


  1. Creatures of a Day
  2. If You Could Hold Someone
  3. Rocks of Time
  4. Tree Climber
  5. Up Is a Nice Place to Be
  6. The Archers
  7. Tiger Ocean Instrumental
  8. Smoke Song
  9. Valentine
  10. Magnolia Sphere
  11. Swan Dive
  12. Next One, Maybe
  13. Piano Improv
  14. Beautiful Dreams

"Rocks of Time" is out now. Phone Orphans is set for release on 3 November via her own Raven Marching Band Records.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next
Babel Marriage cover


22 Sept 2023
Bakar Halo cover


22 Sept 2023
Doja Cat Scarlet cover

Doja Cat

22 Sept 2023