Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Unknown mortal orchestra jan18 Neil Krug

Unknown Mortal Orchestra return with details of new record Sex & Food

08 February 2018, 13:30 | Written by Laurence Day

Unknown Mortal Orchestra have (finally) announced their new record Sex & Food and shared the gorgeously gross animated visuals for recent track "American Guilt".

The album is full of tracks with excellent titles - we can't wait for "Major League Chemicals" and "Chronos Feasts On His Children" - and sees UMO veering towards a louder, scruffier direction to tackle themes of consumerism, positivity, and "the strangeness of our times".

Ruban Nielson & Co. recorded the album across the globe, in cities such as Seoul, Hanoi, Reykjavik, Mexico City, Auckland, and Portland.

"'American Guilt' is an attempt to capture some of the feelings floating around these days," says Nielson of the new song. "In a perverse way I wanted to embrace this abandoned genre of rock music that I keep reading is 'dead' and invite people to hear what this living dead genre sounds like in the UMO universe. It was recorded in Hanoi, Vietnam during monsoon season in a studio built for traditional Vietnamese music. Additional recording was done in Mexico City but our sessions were interrupted by one of the devastating earthquakes that occurred there last year. As we slept in the Parque de Mexico, unable to get back to our Airbnb, we heard a man yell 'Viva la Mexico!' and I put this in the song out of respect for them."

The band's new offering comes shortly after Unknown Mortal Orchestra's annual Christmas mega-jam (this one stretched to a hefty 28 minutes). The new release follows 2015 LP Multi-Love.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra are playing new run of tour dates across Europe and North America, including a handful in the UK in May. Find out more.


  1. A God Called Hubris
  2. Major League Chemicals
  3. Ministry of Alienation
  4. Hunnybee
  5. Chronos Feasts on His Children
  6. American Guilt
  7. The Internet of Love (That Way)
  8. Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays
  9. This Doomsday
  10. How Many Zeros
  11. Not In Love We're Just High
  12. If You're Going to Break Yourself
Sex & Food is out 6 April via Jagjaguwar.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next