Six new classic acts have been inducted this year: Lou Reed (for the second time; Velvet Underground were inducted in '96), Bill Withers, Joan Jett and The Blackhearts, Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Paul Butterfield Blues Band and Green Day. Ringo Starr is to receive the Award For Musical Excellence (The Beatles were inducted way back in '88). Starr said that he's "not putting a band together", but wouldn't rule out performing if someone else were to: "if Paul does, I’ll do ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’”.

Acts who missed this year's induction include The Smiths, Nine Inch Nails, Sting, Kraftwerk, N.W.A., and Chic.

In order to be included on the shortlist, an act needs to have released their debut single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of induction. Last year Nirvana were inducted in the first year they were able; this year Green Day have done the same.