"Gypsie Faerie Queen" is the first track to be shared from Marianne Faithfull's forthcoming album Negative Capability.

The melancholic folk track was inspired by Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream, and features input from Nick Cave. Faithfull explains, "I asked Nick if he would put music to it and he wrote back saying, ‘I’m so busy.’ I said, ‘I understand, sorry to bother you.’ Then he just wrote back, ‘Thank you so much for understanding; here’s the song.’ It’s just gorgeous.”

Negative Capability was recorded with the help of Warren and Rob Ellis, Ed Harcourt, and Mark Lanegan. She explains, "There’s nothing like real hardship to give you some depth. I’ve had terrible accidents and I’m really damaged. It’s changed my life forever. I’m in a lot of pain and worked really hard to get strong so I can do my work. The great miracle is I was able to make this beautiful record.”

Her forthcoming album will be her first studio record since 2014's Give My Love To London.


  1. Misunderstanding
  2. The Gypsy Faerie Queen
  3. As Tears Go By
  4. In My Own Particular Way
  5. Born To Live
  6. Witches Song
  7. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
  8. They Come At Night
  9. Don’t Go
  10. No Moon In Paris
  11. Loneliest Person
"The Gypsy Faerie Queen" is available now. Marianne Faithfull's forthcoming Negative Capability record arrives on 2 November.