"Animal" is the first outing from Marling and Lindsay's LUMP project since their 2018 self-titled debut album, and is teamed with a video with creative direction from Melissa Matos.

Marling's return to LUMP follows her appearance on EOB's "Cloak of the Night" just over a year ago, and is Lindsay's first outing since last November's DEAD CLUB album with Tunng.

Speaking about returning to work on LUMP material, Marling says, "It became a very different thing about escaping a persona that has become a burden to me in some way. It was like putting on a superhero costume." She adds that she sometimes feels as if she might be "edging Laura Marling off a cliff as much as I can and putting LUMP in the centre."

Marling continues, "There’s a little bit of a theme of hedonism on the album, of desires running wild, and also it fed into the idea we had from the start of thinking of LUMP as a kind of representation of instincts, and the world turned upside down."

Lindsay adds, "We created LUMP as a sort of persona and an idea and a creature. Through LUMP we find our inner animal, and through that animal we travel into a parallel universe."


  1. Bloom At Night
  2. Gamma Ray
  3. Animal
  4. Climb Every Wall
  5. Red Snakes
  6. Paradise
  7. Hair On The Pillow
  8. We Cannot Resist
  9. Oberon
  10. Phantom Limb
"Animal" is out now. LUMP's Animal album will be released 30 July via Chrysalis/Partisan Records, and is available to pre-order now.