"Next To Normal" is Lucius' first new material of 2022, and follows their appearance on The War On Drugs' "I Don't Live Here Anymore" in September.

Second Nature is produced by Dave Cobb and Brandi Carlile, and will follow their 2018 album Nudes. It was recorded at Nashville's RCA Studio A, and includes additional contributions from Carlile, Sheryl Crow, Drew Erickson, Rob Moose and Gabriel Cabezas.

Jess Wolfe says of the album, "It is a record that begs you not to sit in the difficult moments, but to dance through them. It touches upon all these stages of grief - and some of that is breakthrough, by the way. Being able to have the full spectrum of the experience that we have had, or that I’ve had in my divorce, or that we had in lockdown, having our careers come to a halt, so to speak. I think you can really hear and feel the spectrum of emotion and hopefully find the joy in the darkness. It does exist. That’s why we made Second Nature and why we wanted it to sound the way it did: our focus was on dancing our way through the darkness."

Carlile says of working on the record, "Lucius has been one of my favourite bands since their first studio album. I kept running into them at festivals and finding myself mystified by their power. This album feels like home to me and anyone growing up surrounded by 80s and 90s pop, but somehow Second Nature is the beginning of a new era - not just for Lucius, but for all of us. We need to get back up on our feet and that’s what this album is insisting we do. This is my first co-production with my dear pal Dave Cobb and I don’t know if I’ve ever been prouder even to witness something let alone get my hands on it. It was an absolute blast."


  1. Second Nature
  2. Next To Normal
  3. 24
  4. Heartbursts
  5. Dance Around It (feat. Brandi Carlile and Sheryl Crow)
  6. The Man I’ll Never Find
  7. Promises
  8. LSD
  9. Tears in Reverse
  10. White Lies
"Next To Normal" is out now. Lucius' Second Nature album will arrive on 8 April, and is available to pre-order now.