Jamie Cullum, BBC Radio's MistaJam and Clara Amfo, Jeff Smith, and Clara Amfo, Radio X's Mike Walsh, The Guardian's Harriet Gibsone, Will Hodgkinson of The Times, Mojo and Q editor Phil Alexander are all also on the panel. Jeff Smith is chair.

The Mercury Prize nominations will be shortlisted into 12 ‘Albums of the Year’, which will be revealed Thursday 26 July at a live launch hosted by BBC Music's Huw Stephens, and on BBC Radio 6 Music's Lauren Laverne’s show from 11am.

The 2018 Mercury Prize winner will be revealed on 20 September at Hammersmith's Eventim Apollo.

Albums released by British and Irish artists between 30 July 2016 and 21 July 2017 are eligible for the prize, which was last year awarded to the multi-talented Sampha for his debut album Process.

Find out more about the Mercury Prize.