Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
JOAN as police woman 0284 FL2 WEB

Joan As Police Woman announces anthology album with two new recordings

12 March 2019, 11:24 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Joan As Police Woman is celebrating her career with a an anthology album, announced alongside one of two new recordings, "What A World".

JOANTHOLOGY focuses on the first 15 years of her career, and is set to feature rare recordings, unreleased material, and 30 tracks that have been released over the course of her career.

'What A World" is one of two new recordings to feature on the album, alongside a cover of Prince's "Kiss". The single revealed today is the first new material since her 2018 album, Damned Devotion.

On the new single, Joan As Police Woman offers, "I was at the ocean in a tiny house by myself when I wrote this song. I took long walks on the beach singing into the sound of the crashing waves; the surf so big it completely enveloped my voice. The feelings there were overwhelming and multi-faceted. At the time of writing, I couldn’t get over that the pain, which felt like it would tear me apart, was part of a larger feeling that made staying alive in this world so inexplicably joyful. The lyrics were difficult to write and raw in a way that made me shiver.

When I finished the song, I played it live just a few times at shows, then I put it away. Over the years, I continued to get asked about "What A World", so I rewrote and recorded it this year. I combined the initial wild spark with the clarity of years of waves crashing on the shore. Pain and joy. Longing and equanimity. Infinite questions surrounded by endless movement. I’m looking forward to finally sharing it with the world."



  1. My Gurl
  2. The Ride
  3. Real Life
  4. Eternal Flame
  5. I Defy (feat. Antony)
  6. We Don’t Own It
  7. Christobel
  8. Honor Wishes (feat. David Sylvian)
  9. Hard White Wall
  10. Start of My Heart
  11. To America (feat. Rufus Wainwright)
  12. To Be Lonely
  13. The Magic
  14. Human Condition
  15. Run For Love
  16. Forever and A Year


  1. What A World (new recording)
  2. Flash
  3. Whatever You Like (T.I)
  4. Holy City
  5. Get Direct
  6. Good Together
  7. Your Song (first time on CD)
  8. Myrrhman (Talk Talk)
  9. Broke Me In Two (with Benjamin Lazar Davis)
  10. Valid Jagger
  11. Steed
  12. Tell Me
  13. Silly Me
  14. Warning Bell
  15. Kiss (Prince)

CD3 (Live at The BBC)

  1. To Be Loved
  2. Start of My Heart
  3. Human Condition
  4. She Watch Channel Zero (Public Enemy)
  5. Sacred Trickster (Sonic Youth)
  6. Holy City
  7. The Classic
  8. Magic Lamp (with Benjamin Lazar Davis)
  9. Let It Be You (with Benjamin Lazar Davis)
  10. The Silence
  11. Damned Devotion
  12. Steed
"What A World" is out now. JOANTHOLOGY lands 24 May via Play It Again Sam. Joan As Police Woman will tour the UK this summer, playing London's EartH on 24 June. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next