Jake and Jamin Orrall are the brother duo that jump to mind when JEFF the Brotherhood are mentioned.

But with news of their 13th album on the horizon, it appears that the brother duo has expanded to a quartet, after welcoming Jack Lawrence (Dead Weather/Raconteurs), and Kunal Prakash (Viva L'American Death Ray Music).

The announcement of their 13th album Magick Songs comes with their lead single "Parachute", which features input from Daddy Issues' Jenna Moynihan, and Bully's Reece Lazarus.

Jake Orrall of the band explained, "The form, structure, and spirituality of 'Parachute' is rooted in Indonesian Gamelan traditions, something the band felt a strong magnetism towards during the recording process. This gives the piece a sort of otherworldly feel, a dreamlike landscape that is further explored through the imagery of the lyrics."

"The lyrics for Parachute began with a dream Jamin had that seemed to fall into place within the themes of the album as a whole, an off world interplanetary/interplanar apocalypse, a psychic battle against an impossibly powerful destructive force not only in the physical dimension but in one's own mind and humanity's collective consciousness. "

Reaching their 13th album is somewhat a milestone, and the brothers decided they needed a new approach.

"It was a huge change for us," Jake Orrall says, "but the music that we had been making up to this point had just kind of fizzled out. It got stale for us. We felt like we’d hit a dead end and we were really excited to try some new things. We built this record from scratch with all of us in a room together which was a really different approach than anything we'd done before, and spent 5 months working day in and day out. Our average time for recording a record before this was 3 days, so there wasn’t really any room or time for this kind of experimentation."

To coincide with their album announcement, JEFF The Brotherhood have also revealed a US tour that kicks off in September. Find out more.


  1. Focus On The Magick
  2. Camel Swallowed Whole
  3. Singing Garden
  4. Parachute
  5. Celebration
  6. Locator
  7. Wasted Lands
  8. Relish
  9. The Mother
  10. Magick Man
  11. Heavy Journey
  12. Farewell To The Sun
JEFF The Brotherhood's new single "Parachute" is available now. Their Magick Songs album drops on 7 September via Dine Alone Records.