Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Courtney Marie Andrews Front Cover Final

Courtney Marie Andrews announces new LP with tender lead track "If I Told"

05 March 2020, 14:28 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Courtney Marie Andrews has announced her new album Old Flowers, and has unveiled the soothing lead single "If I Told".

"If I Told" is the first track to be lifted from Old Flowers, and is Andrews' first single since releasing a cover of Tom Waits' "Downtown Train" last year.

Old Flowers will follow on from Andrews' 2018 LP May Your Kindness Remain, and was recorded at Sound Space Studio with producer Andrew Sarlo (Bon Iver, Big Thief).

The record only features three musicians in total - Andrews on vocals, acoustic guitar, and piano), Twain’s Matthew Davidson on bass, celeste, mellotron, pedal steel, piano, pump organ, wurlitzer, and background vocals, and Big Thief’s James Krivchenia on drums and percussion.

Andrews says of the album, "Old Flowers is about heartbreak. There are a million records and songs about that, but I did not lie when writing these songs. This album is about loving and caring for the person you know you can’t be with. It’s about being afraid to be vulnerable after you’ve been hurt. It’s about a woman who is alone, but okay with that, if it means truth. This was my truth this year - my nine-year relationship ended and I’m a woman alone in the world, but happy to know herself."


  1. Burlap String
  2. Guilty
  3. If I Told
  4. Together Or Alone
  5. Carnival Dream
  6. Old Flowers
  7. Break The Spell
  8. It Must Be Someone Else’s Fault
  9. How You Get Hurt
  10. Ships In The Night
"If I Told" is out now. Courtney Marie Andrews' Old Flowers album arrives 5 June via Loose / Fat Possum, and is available to pre-order now. She plays London's Omeara on 18 June. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next