The pieces will be performed by Chicago-based ensemble Third Coast Percussion.

Fields will be Blood Orange's first album since his Angel's Pulse mixtape that landed last month.

According to Pitchfork, Hynes created the music in a Digital Audio Workstation before sending the recordings to Thirs Coast Percussion for them to arrange the orchestral parts.

Hynes said, "This was the first time I’ve written music that I’ve never played, and I love that. It’s something I’ve always been striving to get to. Seeing what Third Coast Percussion had done with these pieces was magical."


  1. Reach
  2. Blur
  3. Coil
  4. Wane
  5. Curl
  6. Hush
  7. Gather
  8. Tremble
  9. Cradle
  10. Press
  11. Fields
  12. Perfectly Voiceless
  13. There Was Nothing
Blood Orange's Fields album is due to land on 11 October via Cedille.