Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Billie eilish new single

Billie Eilish shares haunting new cut "bury a friend"

30 January 2019, 17:08 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Billie Eilish has shared new track "bury a friend", hours on from announcing her long-awaited debut record When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?

Having shared a 16-second teaser of "bury a friend" yesterday (29 January), Billie Eilish has followed up her exciting debut album announcement with the full track, and creepy visuals directed by Michael Chaves.

Eilish uses her debut album title in the chorus, as she sings softly over her signature brooding electronica instrumentals.

Expanding on the new single, Eilish explains, “When we made "bury a friend", the whole album clicked in my head. I immediately knew what it was going to be about, what the visuals were going to be, and everything in terms of how I wanted it to be perceived. It inspired what the album is about. "bury a friend" is literally from the perspective of the monster under my bed. If you put yourself in that mindset, what is this creature doing or feeling? I also confess that I’m this monster, because I’m my own worst enemy. I might be the monster under your bed too."

Last year Eilish released a stream of hit singles including "you should see me in a crown", "when the party's over", and "come out and play". Her debut album will be her first project since 2017's don't smile at me EP. Earlier this month Eilish revealed "When I Was Older" which featured on the Roma movie soundtrack.

Eilish's debut album was entirely written, produced and recorded entirely by 17-year-old, alongside her brother Finneas in their childhood home of Highland Park, LA.


  1. !!!!!!!
  2. bad guy
  3. xanny
  4. you should see me in a crown
  5. all the good girls go to hell
  6. wish you were gay
  7. when the party’s over
  8. 8
  9. my strange addiction
  10. bury a friend
  11. ilomilo
  12. listen before i go
  13. i love you
  14. goodbye
Billie Eilish's debut album When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? lands 29 March via Polydor. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next