Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
William Doyle Springs Eternal

William Doyle announces forthcoming album, Springs Eternal which features Brian Eno

15 November 2023, 11:40 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

William Doyle – formerly known by his stage name East India Youth – has announced his forthcoming studio album, Springs Eternal, alongside the brand new single, "Relentless Melt".

William describes the thinking behind the single: “The term ‘time’s relentless melt’ struck me as a great phrase within Susan Sontag’s essay, On Photography. Sontag writes of the ability for a photograph to freeze a moment in someone’s life while also documenting the unrelenting movement of time itself. It was something I was thinking a lot about while making this album. One remedy I’ve found for the feeling that the end of time is hurtling towards us is in the refuge that songs and albums can offer me. Songs are rooms in which one has the ability to have their sense of time pleasurably distorted. There’s a couple of moments in this song where I tried to create a literal interpretation of that very distortion. Can you hear it? It’s coming up over the horizon.”

Co-produced by indie superproducer Mike Lindsay (Tunng, LUMP) at his MESS studio in Margate, Springs Eternal – which follows 2021’s critically acclaimed Great Spans of Muddy Time – features contributions from musicians Alexander Painter, Genevieve Dawson and Brian Eno.

Springs Eternal presents a strange and thrilling cast of characters – from cowboys to castaways – who just might be Doyle, once or twice removed. “Most of the songs are in the first-person, but rather than being autobiographical, I was trying to imagine hyperreality versions of myself,” Doyle says. “What if decisions I made in my life had resulted in the self of each particular song? How many degrees of separation am I from those realities? It’s a frightening thought, and frightening thoughts often make for good songs.”

The album is the next chapter in the William Doyle sonic odyssey that began with his incarnation as East India Youth (Total Strife Forever, 2014; Culture of Volume, 2015) and developed under his own name, producing the critically acclaimed records Your Wilderness Revisited (2019) and Great Spans of Muddy Time (2021). Alongside his own output, Doyle recently produced Anna B Savage’s celebrated debut album A Common Turn (2021) and plays in Orlando Weeks’ band both live and on his upcoming record.


  1. Garden Of The Morning
  2. Now In Motion
  3. Relentless Melt
  4. Soft To The Touch
  5. Eternal Spring
  6. Cannot Unsee
  7. Castawayed
  8. Surrender Yourself
  9. A Short Illness
  10. A Long Life
  11. Because Of A Dream

Springs Eternal is to be released on 16 February via Tough Love.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next