"The Last Man On Earth" marks the band's first outing since releasing their 2017 second album Visions of a Life, which won the 2018 Mercury Prize Award.

The new song is accompanied by a video directed by Jordan Hemingway. Lead vocalist Ellie Rowsell says of their single, "It’s about the arrogance of humans. I’d just read Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle and I had written the line "Peculiar travel suggestions are dancing lessons from god" in my notes. But then I thought: 'Uh, your peculiar travel suggestion isn’t a dancing lesson from god, it’s just a travel suggestion! Why does everything need to mean something more?'"

After heading to an Airbnb in Somerset, Wolf Alice recorded some demos in a converted church. Those demos soon evolved into the songs that make up Blue Weekend, which is produced by Markus Dravs (Arcade Fire, Björk, Brian Eno).

Despite the band not releasing new music over the past couple of years, Rowsell did contribute vocals to Mura Masa's "Teenage Headache Dreams" last year. 2020 also saw guitarist Joff Oddie release his debut solo album To Mr Fahey.


  1. The Beach
  2. Delicious Things
  3. Lipstick On The Glass
  4. Smile
  5. Safe From Heartbreak (if you never fall in love)
  6. How Can I Make It OK?
  7. Play The Greatest Hits
  8. Feeling Myself
  9. The Last Man On Earth
  10. No Hard Feelings
  11. The Beach II
"The Last Man On Earth" is out now. Wolf Alice's Blue Weekend album will arrive via Dirty Hit on 11 June, and is available to pre-order now.