"What Kinda Music" is the first glimpse of their forthcoming collaborative album, and arrives with a visual directed by Douglas Bernardt.

What Kinda Music will feature collaborations with Freddie Gibbs, Rocco Palladino, and Kaidi Akinnibi.

The two musicians both grew up in South East London, and Misch first saw Dayes play drums aged nine at a school talent show. The process for What Kinda Music began when they went into a studio in summer 2018.

Misch says of collaborating with Dayes, "Yussef comes from a more experimental background, and he has a lot of loose, crazy ideas. I know how to write a catchy melody, but with interesting chords and I have a good understanding of popular song forms, so I think I streamlined those ideas and made them accessible."

Dayes adds that their collaboration has ended up running deeper than just music, "Both our parents who’d never met each other before, are now best friends as a result of this - they now see each other more than we do! I’d like to think, in some small way, that this album has a similar impact for people too – everything feels so divided these days, it would be nice for people to hear the record and hear two very different musicians coming together and realise it doesn’t have to be that way."


  1. What Kinda Music
  2. Festival
  3. Nightrider (feat. Freddie Gibbs)
  4. Tidal Wave
  5. Sensational
  6. The Real
  7. Lift Off (feat Rocco Palladino)
  8. I Did it For You
  9. Last 100
  10. Kyiv
  11. Julie Mangos
  12. Storm Before the Calm (feat Kaidi Akinnibi)
"What Kinda Music" is out now. Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes' What Kinda Music album arrives 24 April via Blue Note Records / Caroline, and is available to pre-order now.