Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The Weather Station Jeff Bierk CROP hi res 2

The Weather Station announces first album in three years with lead cut "Tried to Tell You"

18 November 2020, 15:08 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The Weather Station has returned with news of her forthcoming album Ignorance, and is previewing the record with the lead single "Tried to Tell You".

"Tried to Tell You" is the second song to be lifted from Ignorance, following last month's "Robber", which is the opening song from the new LP.

The Weather Station, aka Tamara Lindeman, says the new song is about "reaching out to someone; a specific person, or maybe every person, who is tamping down their wildest and most passionate self in service of some self (and world?) destructive order."

Ignorance will be Lindeman's first album in three years after 2017's The Weather Station LP.

The new album marks the first time Lindeman has written songs on keyboard instead of guitar. Ignorance was co-produced by Lindeman and Marcus Paquin (Arcade Fire), who also mixed the album.

Lindeman recorded the album with help from contributing musicians including drummer Kieran Adams, bassist Ben Whiteley, percussionist Philippe Melanson, saxophonist Brodie West, flutist Ryan Driver, keyboardist Johnny Spence, and guitarist Christine Bougie.


  1. Robber
  2. Atlantic
  3. Tried to Tell You
  4. Parking Lot
  5. Loss
  6. Separated
  7. Wear
  8. Trust
  9. Heart
  10. Subdivisions
"Tried to Tell You" is out now. The Weather Station's Ignorance LP will be released via Fat Possum on 5 February 2021, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next