Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Prince press crop

The Prince Estate announce new album of unreleased demos

25 April 2019, 11:24 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The Prince Estate has announced a new Prince album, Originals, full of recordings of hits that he wrote for other artists.

The 15-track album aims to reveal Prince's behind the scenes work, which included creating songs for other artists.

Selected by Troy Carter (on behalf of The Prince Estate) and Jay-Z, the Originals record reveals demos of his hits for other artists between 1981 and 1991.

The demos include Sheila E.’s "The Glamorous Life", Vanity 6’s "Make-Up", the original version of Sinead O'Connor's "Nothing Compares 2 U", and many others.


  1. Sex Shooter (1983)
  2. Jungle Love (1983)
  3. Manic Monday (1984)
  4. Noon Rendezvous (1984)
  5. Make-Up (1981)
  6. 100 MPH (1984)
  7. You’re My Love (1982)
  8. Holly Rock (1985)
  9. Baby, You’re a Trip (1982)
  10. The Glamorous Life (1983)
  11. Gigolos Get Lonely Too (1982)
  12. Love… Thy Will Be Done (1991)
  13. Dear Michelangelo (1985)
  14. Wouldn’t You Love to Love Me? (1981)
  15. Nothing Compares 2 U (1984)
Prince's Originals album will be released exclusively on Tidal from 7 June, arriving on other streaming platforms 21 June. The physcial release is scheduled for 19 July. Find out more.
Share article
Subscribe for news and competitions
Read next