Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Hold Steady KOKO BTS 211014 Gaelle Beri 13

The Hold Steady announce 10th anniversary edition of Heaven Is Whenever with unreleased track

19 October 2020, 12:03 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The Hold Steady will celebrate the 10th anniversary of their fifth LP Heaven Is Whenever with a double album reissue, and have shared previously unreleased track "Separate Vacations" as the lead outing.

"Separate Vacations" is one of nine previously unreleased bonus tracks that will feature on the deluxe reissue of Heaven Is Whenever.

Heaven Is Whenever was released in 2010 as The Hold Steady's fifth LP, and marked the band's first album following the temporary departure of keyboardist Franz Nicolay.

Drive-By Truckers co-founder Patterson Hood writes of the album in the exclusive liner notes, "HEAVEN IS WHENEVER saw one of the most loved bands of this, then still-new century take a perceived stumble and face a small comeuppance. It happens. Many bands don’t survive it, much less come out the other side intact and possibly better than ever…A lesser band might have imploded. Lesser artists might have tried to continue on repeating a successful template that denied the real consequences of the machine they built. Instead they dug deep and pushed onward into a darker night of the soul."

Tracklist (* = bonus tracks):

  1. The Sweet Part of the City
  2. Soft in the Center
  3. The Weekenders
  4. The Smidge
  5. Rock Problems
  6. We Can Get Together
  7. Hurricane J
  8. Barely Breathing
  9. Our Whole Lives
  10. A Slight Discomfort
  11. Ascension Blues *
  12. Touchless *
  13. Separate Vacations *
  14. Criminal Fingers *
  15. Beer On The Bedstand *
  16. At Least Not Tonight *
  17. Wonderful Struggle *
  18. Going On A Hike *
  19. We Can Get Together (Alternate) *
"Separate Vacations" is out now. The Hold Steady's Heaven Is Whenever 10th anniversary reissue will be released 27 November, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next