Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Sylvanesso Brian Karlsson 027

Sylvan Esso announce fourth album with new single "Didn’t Care"

25 July 2022, 10:26 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Sylvan Esso have announced their fourth album No Rules Sandy with new single "Didn't Care" after treating Newport Folk Festival attendees to a performance of the entire record over the weekend.

"Didn't Care" follows May's "Sunburn" and June's "Your Reality", and is accompanied by news of the duo's fourth album No Rules Sandy, which they performed in full at Newport Folk Festival over the weekend.

No Rules Sandy will follow their 2020 album Free Love. The duo's first three albums are considered a trilogy.

Amelia Meath reveals the new album "feels like who we actually are. It just feels like us. We’re not trying to fit into the mould, just happily being our freak selves."

The new album is written and produced by Sylvan Esso, and features drums from TJ Maiani, a string arrangement from Gabriel Kahane and saxophone by Sam Gendel.

In August last year Sylvan Esso's Amelia Meath and Nick Sanborn launched their Psychic Hotline label and singles series.


  1. Moving
  2. Look at Me
  3. (Bad Fills)
  4. Echo Party
  5. How Did You Know
  6. (Betty's, May 4, 2022)
  7. Didn't Care
  8. (Vegas // Dad)
  9. Your Reality
  10. (#1vm)
  11. Cloud Walker
  12. Sunburn
  13. (?)
  14. Alarm
  15. (No Rules Sandy)
  16. Coming Back to You
"Didn't Care" is out now. Sylvan Esso's No Rules Sandy album will be released 12 August via Loma Vista Recordings, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next