The Ascension will be Stevens' first album since releasing Aporia in March - a collaborative LP with his stepfather Lowell Brams. It will be Stevens' first solo album since 2015's Carrie & Lowell.

Stevens' forthcoming album will be his eighth, and he will release lead single and album closing track "America" on Friday (3 July).

Back in April, Stevens featured on Angelo De Augustine's "Santa Barbara" track.


  1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
  2. Run Away With Me
  3. Video Game
  4. Lamentations
  5. Tell Me You Love Me
  6. Die Happy
  7. Ativan
  8. Ursa Major
  9. Landslide
  10. Gilgamesh
  11. Death Star
  12. Goodbye To All That
  13. Sugar
  14. The Ascension
  15. America
"America" will be released on Friday (3 July). Sufjan Stevens' The Ascension album will arrive 25 September via Asthmatic Kitty Records, and is available to pre-order now.