Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Rostam batmanglij

Rostam announces debut solo record and shares lead single "Bike Dream"

15 June 2017, 10:32 | Written by Laurence Day

Producer/singer and former Vampire Weekend member Rostam has announced his debut solo record Half-Light and shared new cut "Bike Dream".

Rostam - full name Rostam Batmanglij - has already shared some tracks from the LP, including "Wood", "Gwan", and "EOS".

"It wasn’t until I had almost finished this album and was trying to decide what I should call it that I took the time to look up the word 'half-light'," says Rostam in a press release. "That lyric, and a large part of that song 'Half-Light', had come to me in a stream of consciousness sitting in front of a piano years ago, captured in a voice memo on my phone. I had never stopped to figure out what that word meant exactly. But when I read its definition, and found that it had a double meaning - that it referred to both dawn and dusk - I started to think of how those times of day are part of so many lyrics on this album."


  1. Sumer
  2. Bike Dream
  3. Half-Light (ft. Kelly Zutrau)
  4. Thatch Snow
  5. Wood
  6. Never Going To Catch Me
  7. Don’t Let It Get To You
  8. I Will See You Again
  9. Hold You (ft. Angel Deradoorian)
  10. When
  11. Rudy
  12. Warning Intruders
  13. EOS
  14. Gwan
  15. Don’t Let It Get To You (Reprise)
Half-Light is out 8 September via Nonesuch.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next