Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Roisin murphy adrian samson 1

Róisín Murphy announces first album in four years with lead track "Something More"

31 July 2020, 10:01 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Róisín Murphy has announced her first album in four years, Róisín Machine, as well as sharing new track "Something More" as the lead single.

"Something More" is the latest track to be shared from Murphy's upcoming album, arriving after previous singles "Murphy's Law", "Narcissus", "Incapable", "Jealousy" and "Simulation".

Murphy says of her newest release, "I interpreted it as a swan-song to how we once lived, there’s plenty of bravado in the lyrics and the character is a kind of antihero but the indefinable yearning and the feeling of arriving at a point of emptiness is universal right now!"

"Something More" was written by Amy Douglas. Murphy says of how they met, "We met last year at a very interesting talk event in london about the psychology and science of Dub. We hit it off immediately, I’m afraid we may have heckled the speakers, who happened to have among them Andrew Weatherall!"

She adds, "I asked her to write me a song about never being full or satisfied, exponential need. She sent a very basic but brilliant demo very soon after, just her singing and playing a piano. The challenge then is to get the music-direction right, the arrangement and the voicing."

Róisín Machine will be Murphy's fifth LP, and first since 2016's Take Her Up to Monto.


  1. Simulation
  2. Kingdom Of Ends
  3. Something More
  4. Shellfish Mademoiselle
  5. Incapable
  6. We Got Together
  7. Murphy’s Law
  8. Game Changer
  9. Narcissus
  10. Jealousy
"Something More" is out now. Róisín Murphy's Róisín Machine album is due for release on 25 September via Skint / BMG, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next