Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Nordic Music Prize 2012 nominees unveiled

03 December 2012, 17:35 | Written by Luke Morgan Britton


The shortlist for this year’s Nordic Music Prize has been revealed.

Among the 12-strong list are the likes of First Aid Kit, Lindstrøm, Retro Stefson and Susanne Sundfør.

In all, there are two bands from Denmark, three from Norway, two from Finland, two from Sweden and another two coming out of Iceland.

The winner will be judged on who has produced the best album of the last twelve months, by a panel of home-grown and international experts.

Among the jury are Laurence Bell of Domino Records, Jeannette Lee of Rough Trade, Mike Pickering from Columbia Records, and DFA Records’ Jonathan Galkin.

Committee member Audun Vinger said:

“The jury meetings at Nordic Music Price are always ear openers. We learn from the knowledge of each other and discover great new music from the local scenes that we didn’t know existed. “The prize is about breaking down barriers, both musical and cultural, and gets more important every year. We try to choose the albums we like the best, through discussion, listening and voting, without too much politics or territorial pride involved.”

The full list of nominations is as below:

Selvhenter – Frk. B. Fricka (Denmark)
Choir Of Young Believers – Rhine Gold (Denmark)
Susanne Sundfør – The Silicone Veil (Norway)
Tønes – Sån av salve (Norway)
Lindstrøm – Smalhans (Norway)
Pää Kii – Pää Kii (Finland)
Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi – Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi (Finland)
Neneh Cherry & The Thing – The Cherry Thing (Sweden)
First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar (Sweden)
Anna von Hausswolff – Ceremony (Sweden)
Ásgeir Trausti – Dýrð í dauðaþögn (Iceland)
Retro Stefson – Retro Stefson (Iceland)

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next