Sound Ancestors will be released under Madlib's name, but was edited, arranged and mastered by Four Tet, real name Kieran Hebden.

Madlib has released two tracks from the album so far - "Hopprock" and "Road Of The Lonely Ones" - and yesterday (10 January) he shared more details on the album, including the tracklist and release date.

According to the album description, Sound Ancestors was recorded in LA "over the course of some years", with Hebden editing, arranging and mastering the album "at his home and when he was on a plane going places".

When announcing the album last month, Hebden revealed he was sent "hundreds of pieces of music over a couple of years".


  1. There Is No Time (Prelude)
  2. The Call
  3. Theme De Crabtree
  4. Road Of The Lonely Ones
  5. Loose Goose
  6. Dirtknock
  7. Hopprock
  8. Riddim Chant
  9. Sound Ancestors
  10. One For Quartabê/Right Now
  11. Hang Out (Phone Off)
  12. Two for 2 -For Dilla
  13. Latino Negro
  14. The New Normal
  15. Chino
  16. Duumbiyay
Madlib and Four Tet's Sound Ancestors album will arrive 29 January via Madlib's Madlib Invazion label, and is available to pre-order now.