This latest track follows "Yemaya", Olly Alexander collaboration "Grounds For Resentment", and "Streets Been Talkin'" in teasing Fatherland, Okereke's first solo record since 2014 LP Trick.

"'Do U Right' started as a song for a DJ Koze compilation,” explains Okereke. "I didn’t get a chance to finish it in time but I knew the song was promising so I kept it for my own album where it mutated and turned into this greasy Stax-style romp."

Okereke has recently announced a 10-date UK tour for October, with shows in London, Brighton, Glasgow, and more confirmed. Tickets are on sale from 4 August.

This month Bloc Party will be headlining Portmeirion's Festival No. 6 with Mogwai and The Flaming Lips. The band's most recent LP was last year's transitional HYMNS (although they unveiled standalone single "Stunt Queen"this past autumn as well).


  1. Overture
  2. Streets Been Talkin'
  3. You Keep On Whispering His Name
  4. Capers
  5. Grounds For Resentment (ft. Olly Alexander)
  6. Yemaya
  7. Do U Right
  8. Versions of Us (ft. Corinne Bailey Rae)
  9. Portrait
  10. Road To Ibadan
  11. Savannah
  12. The New Year Party
  13. Royal Reign
Fatherland is out 6 October via BMG. You can pre-order now via iTunes.