The searing original - taken from 2016 record MY WOMAN - gets a fairly faithful take from Franz Ferdinand, with ghostly harmonies and plenty of oomph.

The group - who have a newly revamped lineup since the departure of founding guitarist Nick McCarthy - are about to release a new album, having already shared "Feel The Love Go", "Lazy Boy", and lead single/title track "Always Ascending".

Always Ascending was recorded in RAK in London and Motorbass in Paris with French producer Philippe Zdae (Phoenix, Beastie Boys). The LP is the first taste of a reinvigorated sound which is described by frontman Alex Kapranos as "simultaneously futuristic and naturalistic". Franz Ferdinand's previous album Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action was released in 2013, although they teamed up with glam veterans Sparks for 2015's FFS project.

The Glasgow-based indie veterans are set to embark on a European tour soon, with a UK leg which includes shows in Glasgow and London in February. Find out more.


1. Always Ascending
2. Lazy Boy
3. Paper Cages
4. Finally
5. The Academy Award
6. Lois Lane
7. Huck And Jim
8. Glimpse Of Love
9. Feel The Love Go
10. Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow

Always Ascending is out 9 February via Domino.